Author Topic: Belfast - the city that can't count!  (Read 11370 times)

Offline weebroalan

• Liable to be bamboozled at traffic lights. Beware! Prefers creme eggs to whoppers. Mr irresponsible-in detention for getting on a train
  • RAWK Supporter
  • Legacy Fan
Belfast - the city that can't count!
« on: December 27, 2011, 08:25:00 pm »
Back in Northern Ireland for Christmas to see family and decided to do a bus tour of Belfast today.

Tour was going great until the point the guide announced that Belfast has in fact got five, yes five quarters! Quarters as in Titanic Quarter, Queens Quarter, Linen Quarter etc

Now as a Maths grad I may be a little sensitive and OCD about numbers but when someone tells me my capital city has 5 quarters I found that more than a little fucking weird!

Anyone else encountered that absurd geometric concept of a city being split into 5 or more quarters?

Offline campioni

• Legacy Fan

Offline weebroalan

• Liable to be bamboozled at traffic lights. Beware! Prefers creme eggs to whoppers. Mr irresponsible-in detention for getting on a train
  • RAWK Supporter
  • Legacy Fan
Re: Belfast - the city that can't count!
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2011, 08:40:25 pm »
Haha they've only got 4 quarters on that website!

Offline weebroalan

• RAWK Supporter
  • Legacy Fan
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2011, 08:41:25 pm »

Offline campioni

• Legacy Fan
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2011, 08:44:39 pm »
the quarters refer to districts or distinct areas of the city rather than the city being divided into four areas. as that website says, it comes from the french 'quartier' which usually means district or neighbourhood.

Online Barneylfc∗

• Cross-dressing man-bag wielding golfer. Wannabe Mod. Coprophiliac. Would like to buy an airline seat if he could. Known 'grass'. Wants to go home to He-Man
  • RAWK Supporter
  • Legacy Fan
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2011, 08:46:01 pm »
Belfast is wank. Bunch of fuckin idiots