Author Topic: Jürgen Klopp  (Read 957372 times)

Offline Caston

• Castoff, Knitone, Purlone
  • RAWK Supporter
  • Legacy Fan
Jürgen Klopp
« on: September 24, 2019, 10:46:47 am »
We have separate threads for our players, so can we have one for our manager?

I mainly wanted to start a new thread on this though as I read an article written by our manager this morning, and I thought it deserved to be read by as many people as possible.

Maybe I Am Dreaming
BY JÜRGEN KLOPP

I have to start with a slightly embarrassing story. Because sometimes I am afraid that the outside world looks at footballers and managers like we’re Gods or something. As a Christian, I believe in only one God, and I can assure you that God has nothing to do with football. The truth is that we all fail, constantly. And when I was a young manager I failed a lot.

This is one of those stories.

We have to go back to 2011. My Borussia Dortmund team were playing Bayern Munich. It was a huge match in the league. We hadn’t won in Munich in something like 20 years. I take a lot of inspiration from movies, so whenever I needed to motivate the boys I would always think of Rocky Balboa. In my opinion, they should show Rocky 1, 2, 3 and 4 in public schools all across the world. It should be like learning the alphabet. If you watch these movies and you don’t want to climb to the top of a mountain, then I think something is wrong with you.

So the night before we played Bayern, I gathered all my players at the hotel for our team talk. The boys were all sitting down. All the lights were off. I told them the truth of the situation: “The last time Dortmund won in Munich, most of you were still in your Pampers.

Then I started playing some scenes from Rocky IV on the video screen. The one with Ivan Drago. A classic, in my opinion.