Author Topic: Doing a masters  (Read 831 times)

Offline smig

• Legacy Fan
Doing a masters
« on: October 8, 2019, 02:46:31 pm »
Hello all, I'm currently considering doing a masters degree with the Open University. I studied for my BA degree with them over a six year period whilst working full-time. Does anybody who has a masters feel as though this enhanced your employment prospects significantly?

I've been looking into an MSc in Development Management with the OU, my BA was in social sciences (social policy) and I've been doing a bit of work on Cobalt Housing's (they're based in Fazakerley, Croxteth and Norris Green) homes & neighbourhoods committee the last four months.

I've applied for a few housing association jobs recently and got nowhere really so I've been looking into a masters to see if that strengthens my hand a bit. Had enough of working for Santander now, the place drives me round the bend.
"Fire in your belly comes from pride and passion in wearing the red shirt."

Offline Socratease

• RAWK Philosopher
  • No new LFC topics
  • Legacy Fan
  • We All Live In A Red & White Kop
Re: Doing a masters
« Reply #1 on: October 8, 2019, 11:53:11 pm »
Congratualtions on applying for a prospective Masters degree
The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance.

Socrates

Offline Socratease

• RAWK Philosopher
  • No new LFC topics
  • Legacy Fan
  • We All Live In A Red & White Kop
« Reply #2 on: October 9, 2019, 12:02:07 am »
Hello all, I'm currently considering doing a masters degree with the Open University. I studied for my BA degree with them over a six year period whilst working full-time. Does anybody who has a masters feel as though this enhanced your employment prospects significantly?