Author Topic: Rehabbing an injury  (Read 12854 times)

Offline CornerFlag

• RAWK Supporter
  • Legacy Fan
  • We all Live in a Red and White Kop
Rehabbing an injury
« on: September 10, 2013, 06:09:12 pm »
So I've been struggling with my back for a good while now, I recently had to take a month off work due to it.  Quite simply it's slowly on the mend again to the point where I'm back at work and I'm able to lift objects again to a small degree (I work as a home shopping van driver though they've modified my duties since I returned to work so now I just gather the items in the early morning).  The problem I've got is that the recovery of my back has somewhat plateaued and with physio through the doctor's surgery seemingly cancelled (no-one's spoken to me about it but the surgery had a pdf of a form that said they'd told me that I wouldn't be getting it, only no-one told me anything) I just wanted some help on the best way that I can manage/improve it.

Some bits about me that might be pertinent:
I'm 30 and overweight (5'8" and just under 14st)
The pain is in the lower back.
Due to IBS I cannot take anti-inflammatories such as ibuprofen; instead I just have to deal with the pain through tablets such as co-codamol).
The injury was getting worse the more I was working.
I've had a previous strain in it through working in a car park pushing trolleys for 8 years.

I already stretch out and use some yoga methods to try and provide some strength in it but I'm looking to start light jogging.  Is that likely to exasperate things or should I try and see how I go?  Should I look to lose a lot of weight to help?  Any help would be appreciated!
My Twitter

Last time I went there I saw masturbating chimpanzees. Whether you think that's worthy of £22 is up to you. All I'll say is I now have an annual pass.

Offline Welshred

• CBE. To be fair to him, he is a massive twat. Professional Ladies' Arse Fondler. Possibly......we're not sure any more......
  • RAWK Supporter