Author Topic: powerline network problem  (Read 1002 times)

Offline FiSh77

• LoAves0. Is completely hooked on RAWK. Dead ringer for Amos Taylor. Burns, baby, burns.
  • Legacy Fan
  • We all live in a Red and White Kop
powerline network problem
« on: December 24, 2017, 02:23:49 pm »
i've been sharing a house with a mate for 18 months, the router has been plugged into one of his powerline adapters since he moved in, i've got one of mine in my room connected to a hub then my android box, ps4 & pc wired to the hub, everything has worked great, he's just got a job down south and has moved out this weekend so i've plugged my other powerline adapter in downstairs, the connection works cos my android box & ps4 are fine but i can't get a wired connection on pc anymore, basically says unidentified network and the troubleshooter says "ethernet doesn't have valid ip configuration"

in ipconfig there is no default gateway, the ip address is 169.254.247.234 & the dns addresses look fucked up, something like fec0:0:0 so guessing it's a dhcp issue?

i've googled the problem and have tried all the solutions i've found but can't fix it, any ideas?

Offline WhereAngelsPlay

• Rockwool Marketing Board Spokesman. Cracker Wanker. Fucking calmest man on RAWK, alright? ALRIGHT?! Definitely a bigger cunt than YOU!
  • RAWK Supporter
  • Legacy Fan
  • We all Live in a Red and White Kop
Re: powerline network problem
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2017, 03:18:02 pm »
When I have had problems with mine I have just reset them & then plugged them both into the same extension lead to pair them again (just easier).
My cup, it runneth over, I'll never get my fill

Offline FiSh77

• LoAves0. Is completely hooked on RAWK. Dead ringer for Amos Taylor. Burns, baby, burns.
  • Legacy Fan
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2017, 04:43:28 pm »
they're paired and working though, android box & ps4 still have a connection, pc hasn't been able to connect since changing the adapter at the router end