Author Topic: What console for the kids (if any)?  (Read 628 times)

Offline Jebediah

• RAWK Supporter
  • Legacy Fan
What console for the kids (if any)?
« on: September 18, 2021, 07:18:55 pm »
Apologies if this has been discussed before, but i am a total newbie to this thread.

Bit of context. The last thing i owned and played regularly was a SNES. Someone gave us a Wii for lockdown and the kids  (ages 7 and 9) got into Just Dance and latterly Mario Kart. Now my son has been playing Minecraft at a friend's house and has been totally obsessed. He has a bit of money saved up and wants to buy his own console. The friend has a PS4.

I am still unsure whether getting a console for kids that age is a good idea, but he is wearing me down slowly.

So my questions are as follows: Should i give in and buy one? What is my best option (i am thinking PS4 as my son is familiar with it)? What other games apart from Just Dance and Minecraft are there? And - following advice from someone else - should i consider buying a second-hand console?

TIA

An elevator can only go up and down, but a Wonkavator goes sideways and slantways and longways and backways and frontways and squareways and any other ways that you can think of...
Proud to be part of the LFC family

Offline emergency exit

• Anny Roader
    • X-Realms
Re: What console for the kids (if any)?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2021, 10:36:53 pm »
Have you considered getting a Nintendo Switch?

I (37) own both a Switch and a PS4 and generally use the PS4 to play the "grown-up"/online/graphic-heavy games.

On the Switch I play the more "family friendly" ones, which basically are games that remind me of what I used to play as a kid (Zelda, Mario etc.).

9 seems a tad early for a PS4 (but what do I know about kids these days  ;D ).

I imagine your son will be a teenager shutting himself off from everyone in front of a screen (e.g. a PS4) soon enough - a Switch is something you could all enjoy together.